WordPress.org – File is empty error – Please upload something more substantial

WordPress.org – File is empty error – Please upload something more substantial

Today, I installed the WordPress.org blogging software on the little bit of free web space my ISP give to me so graciously. The 5 minute install was exactly that. But then I lost hours of my life with this error:

File is empty. Please upload something more substantial. This error could also be caused by uploads being disabled in your php.ini or by post_max_size being defined as smaller than upload_max_filesize in php.ini.

Every time I attempted to upload a media file I was confronted with this problem. And the WordPress version refused to update; the update screen seemed to just freeze every time I tried.

The theory on how to fix this problem is complicated, yet the solution is simple.

Right click on the link below and select Save Link as…. php.ini

Download this file: php.ini

The contents of the php.ini file are this:

<?php phpinfo() ?> memory_limit = 128M

Essentially, it overrides the settings set by your ISP as to what file sizes you are allowed to upload.

Upload the file via ftp to your /wp-admin/ folder on your ISP

Then everything will burst into life and work as normal.

Happy blogging!

Check out my business-card-blog! It’s awesome!